My short year with Sal Salvador


As I mentioned in my last post, my last formal guitar teacher was Sal Salvador. Before I studied with him (and I use the term “studied” loosely because I was out of my league) I only knew him from his guitar instruction books. As the head of the guitar department at University of Bridgeport, he did the best he could with me – I showed up with a Gibson Les Paul under one arm (not exactly the expected jazz ax) and folky, lyric-heavy compositions under the other – but in the end he lost me to a liberal arts education. What I do remember of Sal was that he was a patient teacher with a real passion for his music. Some good reading on Sal can be found here at jazzhouse.org and here at classicjazzguitar.com.

This is the only live video I could find on youtube – and it is mighty tasty. Man was he smooth.

This entry was posted in Guitar, Inspiration, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

