Rumgumption or Why I Love Twitter: Episode #1


On Thursday I tweeted about the Irish music band, Grada, and posted a link to a video of them playing a live show in 2007. Within the hour a musician by the name of Shawn McBurnie had followed me. I always visit the website that followers list in their bio before following them back – it’s an easy way to determine their actual motive for following. The link listed for Mr. McBurnie took me to the website for his band, Rumgumption, a traditional Irish/Scots music group. After listening to one of their streaming songs I followed him without hesitation and sent him a direct message complimenting the song. He immediately messaged me back with a link to the Bandcamp page for the group’s new album, Crossing the Roaring Main, that is due out on December 12 – which is now on my music short list.

A win for me and win for the band.

That’s why I love Twitter.

A little more about the band in their own words: “We play traditional Irish and Scots music with origins ranging from ancient to sometime last week, and have amazed and enthralled literally dozens of people at a time.”

Rumgumption is Adam Modares (djembe, Uillean pipes), Jason Novak (cittern, flute), Chad McAnally (hammered dulcimer, Gaelic harp, assorted whistlage), and Shawn McBurnie (vocals, bodhrán).

This entry was posted in Music, Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rumgumption or Why I Love Twitter: Episode #1

  1. Pingback: The Command Sisters or Why I Love Twitter: Episode #4 | Ladder to the Attic

Leave a Reply

