Watch for the over promise in your brand promise


While shopping for a TV and furniture for a teenager hangout space in our basement I came across these two tag lines that, for me, demonstrate the difference between a brand promise and a brand platitude.

IKEA – Affordable Solutions For Better Living

Sharp AQUOS – Change Your TV. Change Your Life.

One of the hallmarks of a truly great brand promise is believability. Does it hold up to scrutiny? Can you prove it? Does it match what your brand actually delivers?

How do you think these two mega brands did? Both tag lines have a nice rhythm. Both are structured to be easy to remember. Both ground the brands in their respective categories. The difference? IKEA is offering me two things in a straight forward manner that I really want and I can believe I will get from them. Sharp, on the other hand, is claiming that their TV will change my life. Sounds poetic and like something Sharp wants to believe about their TVs. But is it realistic? And do I want it? And by the way, if I’m already shopping for a TV, do I need to be told to change my TV?

How about:

Sharp AQUOS – Change the way you look at life.

Maybe not as grand and important sounding but at least it’s a promise they can defend.

This entry was posted in Branding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watch for the over promise in your brand promise

  1. First of all I want to say wonderful blog!
    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thanks!

  2. Bruce says:

    Glad you are enjoying it. There are two things I’ve learned (but don’t always practice) that make for a more satisfying (i.e. less frustrating) blogging experience. 1. Have one clear point in mind that you want to make. I have wasted a lot of time lovingly crafting a blog post only to realize, when I get to what I think should be the end, that there’s no clear idea for the reader to take away. 2. Allow your subconscious to mess around with the topic a bit before you sit down to write. I find that when I do that the thoughts flow more easily. Hope that helps. Great to hear from you. ~ Bruce

Leave a Reply

